On May 6, 2023 the IBCA hosted the annual Coach of the Year Luncheon.  Outstanding coaches from the 2022-2023 season were recognized for their excellent Junior High School, High School, and college seasons.  The 318 attendees enjoyed the stories of the season's accomplishments and were treated to comments from Brad Underwood, Head Men's Coach at the University of Illinois-Champaign.  The day continued with a social gathering on the CEFCU Arena Mezzanine.

In the evening, the IBCA Hall of Fame banquet inducted 107 new members.  New members were from the following categories:  Coach, Career Coach, Player, Official, Media, Friends of Basketball and Teams.  Eugene Henry of Chicago Fenger HS was honored with the prestigious Chuck Rolinski Award.  Jim Taylor of Aledo was recognized with the Herrins' Award.  Teri Rodgers of New Trier High School was recognized with the Derril Kipp Award for Courage.  Finally, Mr. Basketball--Brock Harding of Moline High School and Ms. Basketball--Lenee Beaumont of (Lisle) Benet Academy thrilled the crowd with their comments.  

Overall, the crowd of 675 enjoyed the best of Illinois basketball!