1 min read

Lincolnwood Boys Win #1000

By IBCA - Illinois Basketball Coaches Association on Feb 25, 2024 07:34:35 PM


On February 16, Vice President Steve Dilley and Board of Director Steve Allen presented a group of former Raymond Lincolnwood boys varsity basketball coaches with a 1000 School Victory plaque. On January 2, the Lancers reached that milestone. Former Coach Courtney Murphy (2001-06), Craig Davelis (1993-99), Mike Meisner (1980-85), current Coach Matt Millburg (2013-present), and former Coach Steve Vance 2007-10), represented a great number of former coaches, players, and fans celebrating this achievement.

In 1962, Farmersville, Harvel, Raymond, and Waggoner merged to become Lincolnwood High School. Since that first 1962-63 season, the Lancers have captured numerous conference and tournament championship along with many 9 regional titles. The 1972 team finished a stellar season by placing 3rd in the Class A State Tournament. Raymond Lincolnwood High School can be included as one of the premier boys’ small school basketball programs in Central Illinois.

Players inducted into the IBCA Hall of Fame are: Rusty Bergman in 1995 and Dave Hobson in 2004.

Friends of Basketball selected into the Hall of Fame include: Daisy Held – Class of 1997; Wayne Angle – Class of 2011; Vern Pinkston – Class of 2020; and Mike Meisner – Class of 2023.

Officials who have been inducted include: Denny Held – Class of 2008 and Alan Poggenpohl – Class of 2023.

Congratulations to Coach Matt Millburg and all Lancer players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!