1 min read

Shelbyville Boys Wins #1500

By IBCA - Illinois Basketball Coaches Association on Feb 22, 2024 01:32:51 PM


The Central Illinois Conference has provided some great competition this season and the match-up between visiting Warrensburg-Latham and host Shelbyville High Schools on Friday, February 9 was no different. Before the game, IBCA Hall of Fame Coach and Past President Ken Crawford and IBCA Board of Director Steve Allen presented current Rams Coach Paul Conlon with a 1500 School Victory plaque. This milestone was achieved this season.

Since the 1914-15 season, when Shelbyville finished 3rd in the IHSA State Tournament held at Millikin University, the Rams have captured 21 regional titles, and made 8 trips to the IHSA state tournament. That includes winning 3rd place in 1915, 4th place in 1918, and the Class A State Championship in 1996 - coached by Sean Taylor. Shelbyville High School can be included as not only one of the premier boys’ basketball programs in Central Illinois but in the state.

Three former coaches have been inducted into the IBCA Hall of Fame:

Don Holler (1967-1968) – Class of 1999; Jim Egan (1988-1994) – Class of 2005; and Sean Taylor (1995-1999) – Class of 2012.

Two players have been selected as IBCA Hall of Famers: Larry Hinton – Class of 1986 and Roger Lotchin – Class of 1997.

Friends of Basketball include: Gary Crowder in 2005 and Tom Horsman also in 2005.

The 1996 State Championship team was inducted in the Class of 2002.

Congratulations to Coach Paul Conlon and all Rams players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!

Shelby 2