On Thursday, December 21, before a match-up with Central Suburban Conference foe Niles West, Mary Ann Kipp, wife of former Coach Derril Kipp, Hall of Fame Assistant Coach Jerry Stonequist, current Varsity Coach Deanna Kuzmanic, and Athletic Director Darrell Mathis, Jr. represent a tremendous contingent of former players in accepting a 1000 School Victory plaque from the IBCA. On December 1, the Warriors became the 7th Illinois girls’ program to reach that milestone.

Since the 1974-75 season, the Warriors have captured an unmatched 29 regional titles – including 19 in a row, 14 sectional crowns, and have made 10 trips to the IHSA state tournament earning a 4th place finish, three 3rd place trophies, one 2nd place, and the 1988 Class AA State Championship, coached by the late Derril Kipp. More recently, West captured 2019 Class 4A State title coached by Kim deMarigny.

Those representing Maine West Basketball in the IBCA Hall of Fame include:

Coach Derril Kipp – Class of 2001, who is remembered by the IBCA with its annual Derril Kipp Courage Award, presented to a deserving individual with Illinois Basketball ties and is symbolic of a great cause.

Long-time Assistant Coach Jerry Stonequist – Class of 2021.

Hall of Fame Players: Nancy Kennelly – Class of 2006, who also played at Northwestern University and was selected as the 1988 Ms. Basketball; Mary Just – Class of 2010, who played at Loyola University; Kerry (Wegrzyn) Kelley – Class of 2021, who played at Western Michigan; Megan Edwards – Class of 2021, who played at Eastern Illinois University; Moira (Kennelly) Pietrowski – Class of 2021, who played at Northwestern University.

Hall of Fame Friends of Basketball are Mary Dankowski – Class of 2015 and newly selected Tom Sochowski- Class of 2024

In 1999, the 1988 Maine West State Championship team was inducted into the IBCA Hall of Fame.

Congratulations to Coach Deanna Kuzmanic and all Warriors players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!