Waterloo Gibault Catholic High School Boys’ Coach Dennis Rueter earned career victory #800 on Saturday, December 9 when his Hawks defeated Father McGivney High School at Dennis Rueter Court in Waterloo. All of Coach Rueter’s 800 wins were earned at Gibault spanning a 44-year career. The game ball signed by his current Hawks, was presented by Girls Athletic Director Marie Davis and Gibault Principal Sarah Lanham. Presenting a “Silver Whistle” to Coach Rueter is IBCA Board of Director and Coach of the Year Chairman, Steve Allen. The presentation preceded a game on Friday, December 15 at Gibault.

Coach Rueter is an IBCA Hall of Fame Coach – Class of 2010, and a seven-time Coach of the Year recipient - including State Coach of the Year for his 2013 Class 1A State Championship. His 800 wins ranks him #9 on the All-Time Illinois Boys list just behind famed Coaches Gordon Kerkman of Aurora West and Centralia’s Arthur Trout.

Congratulations to Coach Rueter and to all teams and players responsible for 800 career victories and counting.

reuter 2