An impressive group of former Bluejay coaches accepted a 1000 School Victory plaque from the IBCA preceding the annual “Blacktop Rivalry” game between Petersburg PORTA and Athens High Schools on Tuesday, January 23. In attendance were former coaches Ray Toland (1979-1991); Mark Cox (1999- 2006); Eric Kessler (2009-2010) - who is the current Bluejays girls coach; Colin Arthalony (2022-2023); and current boys coach Steven Price.

In 1963, Tallula, Oakford, and Petersburg High Schools merged to become PORTA High School. With the addition of the A-C Central co-op, both girls and boys Bluejay basketball programs enjoy a great basketball history.

Since the 1963-64 season, the PORTA high school boys program has captured 12 regional titles, and made 2 trips to state including a 4th place finish in 2014. Along with numerous tournament and Sangamo Conference titles, PORTA High School can be considered one of the top programs in Central Illinois.

Bluejays who have been inducted into the IBCA Hall of Fame include former Coach Ray Toland who was inducted in 1993 and Casey Duncheon who was selected as a player in 1988.

Edger Hollis was inducted as a Friend of Basketball - Class of 1988 as well as Roland and Lois Dearing - Class of 1993.

Mel Richardson of the Petersburg Observer was selected as a member of the Media in 1996.

The IBCA congratulates all Bluejays players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!